Andrew Zhuravlev "Wild, totally wild" ("Paradox" magazine # 9/2003)
Main page
Tour to Neocene
Russian forum
Guestbook

WILD,
TOTALLY WILD

The cover of Paradox magazine where this article had been first published in September, 2003.
The ironic Russian idiom "wonder in feathers" in title means any nonsensical and ridiculous thing.

Andrey Zhuravlev

 

DR. SCI. BIOL. ANDREY ZHURAVLEV, THE MEMBER OF THE BRITISH COMMITTEE OF NATURAL SOURCES HAS FORMULATED OUR ANSWER TO AUTHORS OF “THE FUTURE IS WILD”.

Prediction of the future is ungrateful occupation. The most popular, but also the most abuse in public TV presenters are weather forecasters. Their forecast should precisely describe changes of weather in the nearest day, but it only occasionally coincides with a next day view from the window.
It is much easier to predict the events will take place after 5 million, 100 million or even 200 million years. There will be nobody to check up a prophecy. Therefore numerous collective of creators of book, Internet site and, probably, a computer series “The Future is Wild: a natural history of the future” turned out in very advantageous position. Besides the forecasts submitted in this book, “base exclusively on science” according to authors, and authors are burdened with various ranks and degrees. However all the same it is possible to make sure of something: there happened almost everything that could happen for almost four billion years of existence of life on Earth. By the way, authors of “The Future is Wild” also permanently address to the past, whence take both giants insects and a climate of the future Pangea-2 supercontinent. To tell the truth, they use such adoptions rather clumsily. For example, it is told about a climate of Pangea-2, to which present day continents should merge after 200 million years (possible), that such event “never happened on Earth during all its history”. “Inside the continent, thousand kilometers far from ocean, the fruitless Central Desert lays. Here the average temperature changes from +50°С in summer up to –30°С in winter...” So, and what never-happened things are here? All this is literally copied from the book “Pangea: evolution of supercontinent and its consequence for Earth paleoclimate and conditions of sedimentation” (1994), also with gross blunders. 220 million years ago the significant part of Pangea was located near the South Pole, and Pangea-2 should appear in equatorial zone; that assumes not so severe climate, not mentioning the fact that climate and first of all humidity in depth of continent depend not only on oceanic processes, but also on species structure of algae living in ocean and character of forests growing on land. Therefore it had changed so sharply from the end of Carboniferous up to middle Triassic, and everything happened within the borders of the same Pangea!

GREAT BLUE WINDRUNNERS, the descendants of recent cranes, till the next 100 million years will acquire the second pair of wings in order to maneuver at low speed.

FLISHES, that will descend from cod fishes, will master flight. For this purpose its pectoral fins will turn to wings. To have an opportunity for flish to fly up from water surface, its tail fin will change the structure becoming like whale’s one.


* Famous Soviet and Russian sci-fi writers. The mentioned book “Monday begins in Saturday” is the humoristic novel with elements of fantasy and folk tales - translator’s note.

Even for scientist authors all these factors appeared too difficultly to envisage, therefore their future is more similar to the picture described by Arcady and Boris Strugatsky* in their book “Monday begins in Saturday”: “…any people dressed only partially had been permanently met: for example, in green hat and red jacket on naked body (and no more); I was confused until I had recalled that some authors are in the habit to write something like “door opened, and on the threshold the harmonous muscled man in shaggy cap and dark glasses had appeared”. It’s very exact characteristic of monsters of “The Future is Wild”.
Each monster, even most plausibly fabricated, is brought up by authors in hothouse conditions of incubator. In real inland communities it would not appear any chance to appear to them. In Earth history the period of huge arthropods also took place: approximately 320 million years ago dragonflies of 80 centimeters wingspan flied, opilionids on half-meter legs walked, two-meter long millipedes crawled. To make such picture a reality at least two factors had worked: absence of competitors from the part of vertebrates at them and the increased level of oxygen contents in atmosphere. Outside of dense oxygen-rich atmosphere the respiratory system of overgrown arthropods will not work. But when running, climbing and flying vertebrates settled on land, any changes in composition of air (for example, at the end of Cretaceous period – the beginning of Cenozoic era) did not help insects and their relatives any more. They will not help also in the future. We don’t mention also that authors had easily and cheerfully bypassed a problem of occurrence of superfluous oxygen. In Carboniferous about which we speak, surplus of oxygen had been formed due to failure in circulation of organic substances: chemical compounds appeared, which had been too hard for former destructor organisms, and new groups of destructors, probably, had not appeared. After their appearing “superfluous” oxygen had been quickly called for oxidation of decomposed organic material. In the future the similar concurrence of set of the events favorable for giant arthropods seems too incredible. It hardly is worthy to expect of the appearing of any monster wasps even after 100 million years.

* Translator’s note for English readers: it is the phrase from humoristic monologue about the price of crayfish: “Yesterday’s ones were large, but cost five roubles. And today’s ones cost three roubles, but they’re small. But they are today”.

Equally easily authors draw the reef community of 100-million-year “futureness”. And it is again without any look back at the past. “Futurist” biologists imagine new reef system this way: increase of the contents of nutrients favours to flowering of red algae, and overgrown nudibranch mollusks pollinating them develop, serving as a food for siphonophoras (that had “cost of five roubles, but yesterday”*). Actually the increased contents of nutrients results in abundance of phytoplankton which intercepts them at benthic communities (including algae) and simultaneously, breeding in huge amounts, lowers the water transparency. Therefore reeves in such periods are building by sponges – filtrating organisms not requiring for good light exposure, but not by calciferous algae. Red algae with strongly expressed sexual process exist not less than 1,2 billion years; for this time they have not got flowers; they will not blossom also in next 100 million years. Flowers are necessary for ground plants which should be pollinated outside of water environment. Large durophagous predators (“phage” in Greek means “devourer”, and first half of word means ones had not manage to evade from them) are really characteristic for time of largest reeves. But for this purpose the ecosystem should consist of multiply species which are built in longest chain where each subsequent link is larger and eats representatives of the previous smaller link. As a result right at the end of chain we receive an armoured fish of 9-meter length (380 million years ago), 14-meter ichthyosaurus (200 million years ago) or the favourite character of film “Jaws” (50 million years ago).

After next 200 million years squids will move on land and will turn to SQUIBBONS. They will move tumbling on the ground, but eyes located on muscled stalks will constantly stay in centre of gravity at such tumbling and will always look forward. Squibbons will live in groups and build rather simple nests on top tree branches. By their intelligence they’ll be closest to humans.


And any monster taken into account appears the paper tiger. Well, by what reason cephalopods will crawl on land if it had not happen 400-420 million years ago? And you may see they also had not competitors on land there, and shell serving as a support and damp shelter in case of drying, was at them. Octopuses more than 150 million years evolve to the direction of skeletonless sea creatures which are already impossible to be rebuild to forest partisans. How will the tortoise turn to the hundred-ton monster? Tortoises never increased their weight over one ton. A problem of size is much more difficult to be removed, than the carapace. Analogies to dinosaurs (the limited weight of which, by the way, is estimated to 80 and even to 35 tons) are inappropriate here. Dinosaurs at first had solved a problem of support and breath, and then began to increase weight. Ancestors of tortoises had gone in other way: the carapace had formed a framework protecting thorax from squeezing. Otherwise they could not walk and breathe simultaneously. And protection is important, but by-effect of this design. After disappearance of predators it will not be easier to breathe, and the 120-ton armourless tortoise, besides eating up to 600 kg of vegetation per day (why will this cold-blooded one consume so much?), is a strange invention of the authors, considering themselves as experts in biomechanics and physiology.
And how to receive treelike forests from lichens at their rates of growth (no more than 5 centimeters per year)? They are not casually distributed only in places where they have completely no competitors, the higher plants. And again, such thing hadn’t happened 420 million years ago when their contenders still had not mastered land in full degree. Giant mushrooms, 70 centimeters in diameter, had appeared then (and also had quickly came to naught), and treelike lichens never appeared. Also it will not happen. Actively flying fishes will not appear. Adaptations to flight arose repeatedly (insects, some thecodonts, pterosaurs, nowadays living fan-tailed birds and lizard-tailed birds unrelated to them), but always at overland organisms. Flight develops as strategy of those ones who catches up. Above ocean open spaces, if to remove birds, nobody will be hunted, and if to leave birds, the competition never will develop for the benefit of fishes, the beginning flyers.
Authors of “The Future is Wild” had completely excluded from their constructions also the fact that species evolve in communities instead of in themselves. They had completely ignored also that in evolutionary transformations of any group of organisms there are their own rules as Nikolay Vavilov has established in the beginning of XX century. The history of fossil communities not casually indicates that to change the extinct species very similar one usually comes, and frequently related to it (but not any monster). This way rather steady systems, existing millions years, are formed. Parallelisms in development, which western scientists usually avoid to discuss (also not only in this book), are peculiar to alive systems in general, in other words, to related groups of organisms. In several lines of the certain group of reptiles key features of mammals formed independently, also independently in other group of reptiles attributes of birds gathered, and among gymnospermous plants attributes of flowering ones did. Even features of man of modern type developed independently in different lines of orthograde primates. All these laws prompt, for example, that a niche of birds, under condition of their total extinction, will be occupied by new feathery or scaly creatures arisen from skipping or tree-climbing reptiles, but in any way not from fishes.
In essence, creators of “The Future is Wild” use exclusively images of modern and prehistoric organisms, for what those ones are “dismembered” and as if exchange their parts. However thus the level of development of organisms remains constant and more – less modern. Though all history of development of life on Earth testifies to constant increase of energy of all live beings. Russian paleontologist Alexander Rautian rather exactly and wittily said that the Paleozoic world, as opposed to Mesozoic one, moved at walk. For the last of 600 million years not only speeds of movement of animals have increased, but also significantly, especially during Mesozoic and Cenozoic, their ability to a filtration, processing of deposits, an opportunity of protection and an attack has amplified, a variety, both general (global) and local (within the limits of the certain communities) has sharply jumped up. Probably, at the overcoming of present day ecological crisis all these tendencies will renew also in the future. Authors had undertaken to untwist the geological annals in return side: a congelation – Messenian crisis (the shallowing of Mediterranean Sea) – Triassic Pangea, – having populated the Earth of the future with the organisms of the past.
On the average creators of “The Future is Wild” had heaped up one gross blunder to every page, not taking into account any small flaws. Like isolated South America at the moment of extreme lowering of sea level. Or like the grassland fires destroying trees to please to grasses. Excuse me, but what about scrubs (thickets of trees and bushes) of Australia, where eucalypti are adapted to survive in periodic fiery waves not worse as local grasses? Authors have slow twisting rivers flowing on abrupt slopes, and pollen of plants flies from South America to Australia against the wind direction. And the main reason of rising of sea level was... the expansion of water at heating. And all glatio- and tectonoeustasies are out of attention! (First of these terms connects change of sea level to the condition of icecaps, and the second with the volume of mid-oceanic ridges.) Unfortunately, the newest word in “science” had not get any value, but meanwhile it is interesting to know, what volume of water can be added due to its expansion.
Scenes of global extinctions also are too far-fetched. Last congelation, for example, if it caused an effect to evolution of Homo sapiens, caused it only to the side positive for it. It had allowed it to deal with other real competitor for place on Earth – with Neanderthal man. It is surprising that Neanderthal men were better adapted to life in frosty climate, but their small populations, isolated as a result of approach of glaciers, were, probably, partly assimilated, and generally exterminated by hordes of Homo sapiens which have intruded to Europe. So, the danger of winterkilling threatens to it at the least degree.
By the way, we still live in ice age, and the science is not capable to give the plausible forecast: will it become warmer or colder the nearest centuries. Even if to assume, that carbonic gas is the basic heater of modern atmosphere (not all scientists agree with it), the level of its contents in atmosphere depends on set of the reasons: rates of orogenic processes, pattern of volcanic activity, productivity of oceanic phytoplankton, species structure of phytoplankton, features of ground vegetation, but not just of amounts of organic fuel burnt by people.
Till only last five years each of these factors had taken the leading place, but the clear picture of climate of the near future had not developed yet. Forces and means of modern science are simply not enough for similar forecasts .
It is possible to tell evidently only, that so power-intensive species, as the human species is, can not exist for a long time because of limitation of resources. Everything that people consume as a raw material is created by former ecosystems in unique and frequently unrepeatable conditions. Sooner or later, having lost the source of raw materials, the mankind is doomed. And only in some thousand years no one ape species will live on Earth. From the stock of feral cattle the ecosystem of grassland type (because grasses are more adapted to present rather low contents carbon dioxide in atmosphere) will start to restore. In human time semi-feral mustang horses have taken a place of bisons in prairies, and also their own one in some extent (their horse ancestors lived there). Ecosystems of tundra, taiga, semideserts and deserts will revive in former condition. Congelations and warmings will shift their borders, but will not cause any mass extinctions likewise they did not cause them in past (again on contrary to statements of authors of the book). And if patches tropical rainforest and reeves will be kept, they also will restore though in strongly impoverished condition. But the only thing will never appear on planet is an intelligent life.

Translated by Pavel Volkov,
Vladimir, 2009

Main page
Tour to Neocene
Russian forum
Guestbook

Андрей Журавлёв "Дикие, совсем дикие" (журнал "Парадокс" №9/2003)
Главная страница
Путешествие в неоцен
Форум
Гостевая книга

ДИКИЕ,
СОВСЕМ ДИКИЕ

Андрей Журавлев

 

НАШ ОТВЕТ АВТОРАМ «ДИКОГО МИРА БУДУЩЕГО» СФОРМУЛИРОВАЛ ДОКТОР БИОЛОГИЧЕСКИХ НАУК, ЧЛЕН БРИТАНСКОГО КОМИТЕТА ПО ПРИРОДНЫМ РЕСУРСАМ АНДРЕЙ ЖУРАВЛЕВ.

Предсказание будущего — неблагодарное дело. Самые популярные, но и самые ругаемые в народе телеведущие — это синоптики. Их прогноз должен точно описать изменения погоды в ближайшие сутки, но лишь изредка совпадает с видом из окна на следующий день.
Намного проще предсказывать то, что произойдет через 5 миллионов, 100 миллионов или даже 200 миллионов лет. Проверить пророчество будет некому. Поэтому огромный коллектив создателей книги, сайта в Интернете и, вероятно, компьютерного сериала «Дикий мир будущего: естественная история будущего» оказался в очень выигрышном положении. К тому же прогнозы, представленные в этой книге, по словам авторов, «опираются исключительно на науку», а сами авторы обременены различными званиями и степенями. Однако кое в чем удостовериться все-таки можно: почти за четыре миллиарда лет существования жизни на Земле случилось почти все, что могло случиться. Кстати, авторы «Дикого мира» тоже постоянно обращаются в прошлое, откуда извлекают и насекомых-гигантов, и климат будущего суперконтинента Пангея-2. Правда, используют они подобные заимствования весьма неуклюже. Например, о климате Пангеи-2, в которую нынешние материки должны слиться через 200 миллионов лет (допустим), сказано, что такого «никогда не бывало на Земле за всю ее историю». «Внутри материка, в тысячах километров от океана, лежит бесплодная Центральная пустыня. Средняя температура здесь колеблется от +50°С летом до -30°С зимой...» И что же здесь небывалого? Все дословно списано из книги «Пангея: эволюция суперконтинента и ее последствия для палеоклимата Земли и обстановок осадконакопления» (1994), причем с грубыми ошибками. 220 миллионов лет назад значительная часть Пангеи находилась вблизи Южного полюса, а Пангея-2 должна оказаться в экваториальном поясе, что предполагает не столь суровый климат, Не говоря уж о том, что климат и в первую очередь влажность в глубине континента зависят не только от океанических процессов, но и от состава водорослей, живущих в океане, характера лесов, растущих на суше. Поэтому он так резко поменялся с конца каменноугольного периода до середины триасового, и все в пределах той же Пангеи!

Даже для ученых авторов все эти факторы предусмотреть оказалось слишком сложно, поэтому их будущее больше похоже на то, что описали Аркадий и Борис Стругацкие в книге «Понедельник начинается в субботу»: «То и дело попадались какие-то люди, одетые только частично: скажем, в зеленой шляпе и красном пиджаке на голое тело (больше ничего); я смущался до тех пор, пока не вспомнил, что некоторые авторы имеют обыкновение писать что-нибудь вроде «дверь отворилась, и на пороге появился стройный мускулистый человек в мохнатой кепке и темных очках». Очень точная характеристика монстров «Дикого будущего».
Каждое страшилище, даже наиболее правдоподобно сфабрикованное, выращено авторами в тепличных условиях инкубатора. В реальных наземных сообществах им не представилось бы ни единого шанса появиться. В истории Земли был и период гигантских членистоногих: примерно 320 миллионов лет назад летали стрекозы с размахом крыльев 80 сантиметров, вышагивали сенокосцы на полуметровых лапах, ползали двухметровые многоножки. Чтобы подобное стало реальностью, сработало по меньшей мере два фактора: отсутствие у них конкурентов со стороны позвоночных и повышенный уровень содержания кислорода в атмосфере. Вне плотной кислородной атмосферы дыхательная система членистоногих-переростков работать не будет. Но стоило на суше обосноваться бегающим, лазающим и летающим позвоночным, никакие изменения в составе воздуха (например, в конце мелового периода — начале кайнозойской эры) насекомым и их родственникам уже не помогали. Не помогут и в будущем. Не говоря уж о том, что авторы легко и весело обошли проблему появления избыточного кислорода. В каменноугольный период, о котором шла речь, излишки кислорода образовались за счет сбоя в круговороте органических веществ: появились соединения, которые прежним организмам-деструкторам оказались «не по зубам», а новые группы разрушителей еще, видимо, не возникли. С их приходом «лишний» кислород быстро был востребован на окисление разлагавшейся органики. В будущем подобное совпадение множества событий, благоприятных для членистоногих-великанов, слишком невероятно. Вряд ли стоит ожидать даже через 100 миллионов лет явления каких-нибудь ос-монстров.
Столь же легко авторы рисуют свое рифовое сообщество 100-миллионнолетней «будущности». И снова без какой-либо оглядки на прошлое. Биологи-«футуристы» представляют себе новую рифовую систему так: повышение содержания питательных веществ благоприятствует цветению красных водорослей, опыляя которые развиваются голожаберные моллюски-переростки, служащие кормом для сифонофор (из тех, что «по пять рублей, но вчера»). На самом деле повышенное содержание питательных веществ ведет к обилию фитопланктона, который перехватывает их у донных сообществ (в том числе водорослей) и одновременно, размножаясь в гигантских количествах, понижает прозрачность вод. Поэтому рифы в такие периоды строятся фильтраторами-губками, не нуждающимися в хорошей освещенности, а отнюдь не обызвествленными водорослями. Красные водоросли с ярко выраженным половым процессом существуют не менее 1,2 миллиарда лет; за это время не обзавелись цветами, не зацветут и 100 миллионов лет спустя. Цветы нужны наземным растениям, которым приходится опыляться вне водной среды. Крупные хищники-дурофаги («фаг» по-гречески «пожиратель», а первая половина слова означает тех, кто не успел от них увернуться), действительно, характерны для времени самых крупных рифов. Но для этого экосистема должна состоять из множества видов, которые выстраиваются в длиннейшую цепочку, где каждое последующее звено покрупнее ест представителей предыдущего звена помельче. В итоге в самом конце цепи и получаем панцирную рыбу 9-метровой длины (380 миллионов лет назад), 14-метрового ихтиозавра (200 миллионов лет назад) или излюбленного персонажа фильма «Челюсти» (50 миллионов лет назад).

И какое чудище ни возьми, тигр оказывается бумажным. Ну с какой стати головоногие моллюски полезут на берег, если этого не случилось 400—420 миллионов лет назад? А ведь у них тогда и конкурентов на суше не было, и раковина, служащая опорой и влажным приютом на случай пересыхания, была. Осьминоги же более 150 миллионов лет эволюционируют в сторону бесскелетных морских существ, которых в лесных партизан переделать уже невозможно. Как черепахе превратиться в стотонного монстра? Сухопутные черепахи никогда не наращивали массу свыше тонны. Проблему размеров снять гораздо труднее, чем панцирь. Аналогии с динозаврами (предельный вес которых, кстати, определяется в 80, а то и в 35 тонн) здесь неуместны. Динозавры сначала решили проблему опоры и дыхания, а потом стали наращивать вес. Предки черепах пошли другим путем: панцирь образовал каркас, предохраняющий грудную клетку от сдавливания. Иначе они не смогли бы ходить и дышать одновременно. А защита — важный, но побочный эффект этой конструкции. С исчезновением хищников дышать легче не станет, и 120-тонная сухопутная черепаха без панциря, к тому же съедающая по 600 килограммов растительности в день (зачем ей столько, холоднокровной?),— это странное изобретение авторов, считающих себя экспертами в биомеханике и физиологии.
И как получить из лишайников древовидные леса при их-то темпах роста (не более 5 сантиметров в год)? Не случайно они распространены лишь там, где у них совершенно отсутствуют конкуренты — высшие растения. Опять же не случилось такого 420 миллионов лет назад, когда их соперники сушу еще как следует не освоили. Грибы гигантские, по 70 сантиметров в поперечнике, тогда появились (и тоже быстро сошли на нет), а древовидных лишайников никогда не было. И не будет. Не появятся активно летающие рыбы. Приспособления к полету возникали неоднократно (насекомые, некоторые текодонты, птерозавры, ныне живущие птицы веерохвостые и неродственные им птицы ящерохвостые), но всегда у наземных организмов. Полет развивается как стратегия тех, кто догоняет. Над океанскими просторами, если убрать птиц, охотиться будет не на кого, а если птиц оставить, конкуренция никогда не сложится в пользу начинающих летунов — рыб.
Авторы «Дикого будущего» совершенно исключили из своих построений и тот факт, что виды эволюционируют в сообществах, а не сами по себе. Они полностью проигнорировали и то, что в эволюционных преобразованиях любой группы организмов, как в начале XX века установил Николай Вавилов, есть свои правила. Не случайно история древних сообществ свидетельствует, что на смену исчезнувшему виду обычно приходит очень похожий, а зачастую и родственный ему (а не какой-нибудь монстр). Так образуются довольно устойчивые системы, существующие миллионы лет. Параллелизмы развития, которые западные ученые (и не только в этой книге) обсуждать обычно избегают, вообще свойственны живым системам, иначе говоря, родственным группам организмов. В нескольких линиях определенной группы рептилий независимо формировались ключевые признаки млекопитающих, так же независимо в другой группе пресмыкающихся накапливались признаки птиц, а среди голосеменных растений — признаки цветковых. Даже черты человека современного типа независимо складывались в разных линиях прямоходящих приматов. Все эти закономерности подсказывают, например, что нишу птиц, при условии их полного вымирания, займут новые пернатые или чешуйчатые создания, возникшие из скачущих или древолазающих рептилий, но никак не рыбы.
По существу, создатели «Дикого будущего» используют исключительно образы современных и доисторических организмов, для чего те «расчленяются» и как бы обмениваются частями. Однако при этом сам уровень развития организмов остается неизменным и более-менее современным. Хотя вся история развития жизни на Земле свидетельствует о постоянном возрастании энергетики всего живого. Российский палеонтолог Александр Раутиан довольно точно и остроумно выразился, что палеозойский мир, в отличие от мезозойского, перемещался шагом. За последние 600 миллионов лет не только возросли скорости передвижения животных, но и значительно, особенно в течение мезозоя и кайнозоя, усилилась их способность к фильтрации, переработке осадка, возможности защиты и нападения, резко подскочило разнообразие, как общее (глобальное), так и местное (в пределах определенных сообществ). Вероятно, с преодолением нынешнего экологического кризиса все эти тенденции возобновятся и в будущем. Авторы же взялись раскручивать геологическую летопись в обратную сторону: оледенение — мессинский кризис (обмеление Средиземного моря) — триасовая Пангея,— населив Землю будущего организмами прошлого.
В среднем создатели «Дикого будущего» нагромоздили по одной грубой ошибке на страницу, не считая мелких огрех. Вроде изолированной Южной Америки в момент предельного падения уровня моря. Или степных пожаров, уничтожающих деревья в угоду травам. Простите, а скребы (заросли деревьев и кустарников) Австралии, где эвкалипты приспособились переживать периодические огненные валы не хуже местных трав? Медленные извилистые реки текут у авторов по крутым склонам, а пыльца растений прилетает из Южной Америки в Австралию против ветра. А главной причиной повышения уровня моря оказалось... расширение воды при нагреве. И побоку все гляцио- и тектоноэвстазии! (Первый из этих терминов связывает изменение уровня моря с состоянием ледниковых шапок, а второй — с объемом срединно-океанических хребтов.) К сожалению, новейшее слово в «науке» осталось без цифры, а между тем интересно знать, какой объем воды можно добавить за счет ее расширения.
Слишком надуманны и картины глобальных вымираний. Последнее оледенение, например, если и сказалось на эволюции человека разумного, то только в положительную для него сторону. Оно позволило справиться с другим реальным конкурентом за место на Земле – неандертальцем. Удивительно, что неандертальцы были лучше приспособлены к жизни в морозном климате, но их малочисленные, разрозненные в результате наступления ледников популяции были, вероятно, частично ассимилированы, а по большей части перебиты вторгшимися в Европу ордами человека разумного. Так что меньше всего последнему грозит опасность вымерзания.
Кстати, мы по-прежнему живем в ледниковом периоде, и правдоподобный прогноз: потеплеет или похолодает в ближайшие столетия – наука дать не в состоянии. Если даже предположить, что углекислый газ является основным утеплителем современной атмосферы (с чем не все согласны), то уровень его содержания в атмосфере зависит от множества причин: темпов горообразовательных процессов, характера вулканической деятельности, продуктивности океанического фитопланктона, состава фитопланктона, особенностей наземной растительности, а не только от количества сожженного человеком органического топлива.
Лишь за последние пять лет каждый из этих факторов побывал среди ведущих, но ясная картина климата ближайшего будущего так и не сложилась. Сил и средств современной науки на подобные прогнозы просто не хватает.
С очевидностью можно лишь сказать, что столь энергоемкие виды, как человек, долго существовать не могут ввиду ограниченности ресурсов. Все, что человек потребляет в качестве сырья, создано былыми экосистемами в уникальных, часто неповторимых условиях. Рано или поздно, лишившись своих сырьевых ресурсов, человечество обречено. И всего через несколько тысяч лет на Земле не будет никаких человекообразных обезьян. За счет одичавшего домашнего рогатого скота начнет восстанавливаться экосистема степного типа (потому что травы более приспособлены к нынешнему относительно низкому содержанию в атмосфере двуокиси углерода). Еще при человеке полудикие лошади-мустанги заняли место бизонов в прериях, а в какой-то степени и свое (там жили их лошадиные предки). Возродятся в прежнем виде экосистемы тундры, тайги, полупустынь и пустынь. Оледенения и потепления будут сдвигать их границы, но не вызовут никаких массовых вымираний, как не вызывали их в прошлом (опять же вопреки утверждениям авторов книги). А если к тому времени сохранятся участки дождевого тропического леса и рифов, то восстановятся и они, хотя в сильно обедненном виде. Но чего на планете уже не будет никогда – это разумной жизни.

Главная страница
Путешествие в неоцен
Форум
Гостевая книга